Safest campgrounds for solo newb in WA?

Washington, Oregon, Idaho & Alaska

Safest campgrounds for solo newb in WA?

Postby Nicolathecat » Mon Oct 21, 2013 1:26 pm

Hey there,

I am a total teardrop newb. I am still in the planning stages of purchasing a teardrop. As a widow it will just be me, my 10 yr old and our faithful dog Kahlua. I would love suggestions for SAFE campgrounds in Western Washington...kind of a starter campground if you will. I have never been camping as the person in charge. Went with my mom and grandparents as a kid and then years later went with a boyfriend. Suggestions, advice and btdt stories gratefully accepted.

THANKS!!!
"An Zhi Fei Fu"
Who could have guessed it was a blessing in disguise?
-Chinese proverb

Nicolathecat
Teardrop Builder

Re: Safest campgrounds for solo newb in WA?

Postby GuitarPhotog » Mon Oct 21, 2013 5:39 pm

I spent a week at Grayland Beach State Park in June and would classify as family friendly and safe. It's also teardrop friendly, most sites have hookups, and it's in an interesting part of the state (Gray's Harbor). I'd recommend it for a first timer.

It has easy to back into sites with good separation and privacy and is close enough to town that you can run out for forgotten supplies easily. Oh, and good clean restrooms and showers.

<Chas>
:beer:
GuitarPhotog
Silver Donating Member

Postby Nicolathecat » Mon Oct 21, 2013 5:46 pm

Thank you so much. That is only two hours from us and near the ocean...sounds awesome!
"An Zhi Fei Fu"
-Chinese proverb

Nicolathecat
Teardrop Builder

Postby Fyddler » Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:24 pm

I can't think of any parks in Western WA that I would feel uncomfortable having my wife stay alone at, and there are so many to choose from!
To err is human, to really foul up requires a computer

Build Log: http://www.tnttt.com/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=55017
Fyddler
The 300 Club

Postby eggsalad » Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:43 pm