any one in to smoking.?

General Discussion about almost anything Teardrop or camping related

Re: any one in to smoking.?

Postby Sabatical » Sat Dec 17, 2016 5:14 pm

I've been smoking for a few years now in our weber kettle using a smokinator 2000. It's just a piece of stainless bent 90 degrees and rounded to fit the curve of the grill. It's got two holes to drop fuel through and a small dish for water. It works real well and the capcity of the grill is plenty for a turkey or a couple chickens or pork butts. Mmm good eats.

Sent from my SCH-I435 using Tapatalk
Sabatical
Teardrop Advisor

Postby Sierraguy » Sat Dec 17, 2016 10:39 pm

I love to smoke pork spareribs often on my kamado grill. I usually burn a combination of Mesquite lump charcoal with chunks of Pecan wood. My favorite kind of Sunday is brewing a batch of homebrewed ale while I smoke a rack of spares.
Sierraguy
Teardrop Inspector

Postby Woodbutcher » Sat Dec 17, 2016 10:56 pm

I am a pellet head. My smoker is a Traeger pellet grill. I love it. My first smoker was a Weber Bullet I think it was called. Worked fine but required lots of attention. So I moved up to the pellet smoker. This burns only food grade pellets no heating pellets.

Here is a picture....

These are 6 chickens waiting at a bus stop. LOL

Woodbutcher
Platinum Donating Member

Postby dmb90260 » Sun Dec 18, 2016 9:26 am

Woodbutcher wrote:I am a pellet head. My smoker is a Traeger pellet grill. I love it. My first smoker was a Weber Bullet I think it was called. Worked fine but required lots of attention. So I moved up to the pellet smoker. This burns only food grade pellets no heating pellets.
]

I followed same path. I have a nice lightly used Weber Bullet out back waiting to get on Craigslist.
I use the Traeger Tailgater, perfect size for me and use it all the time. It is small but handles two racks of ribs and this year did a 13# turkey.
I like it so much there is one in my truck as a Christmas present for my brother.
Dennis