best way to clean and repack bearings?

General Discussion about almost anything Teardrop or camping related

best way to clean and repack bearings?

Postby ae6black » Thu Jan 26, 2017 1:16 pm

What is the best way to clean and repack bearings? I am pretty sure I do this the wrong way although I've been doing this for 40 years or so. My practice has been to swhish the dirty bearings in a container holding a little bit of gasoline and slosh them around until all traces of dirt and old grease are gone. Then I've let them dry out and then simply repacked them in my hands by forcing the grease into the bearings until it comes out all over. I've never had a dry bearing doing this but have often had trouble with bearings getting wet when the seals failed. What is the best way, particularly on how to prepare a bearing for packing with new grease? I've heard they've got a tool of some sort out there but hand method has always worked for me. It's the getting the thing clean enough to start with that has me confused.

Art
ae6black
Silver Donating Member

Re: best way to clean and repack bearings?

Postby booyah » Thu Jan 26, 2017 1:21 pm

swap gasoline for carb cleaner and thats how I do it.
My build, 5x8 modified benroy "Smiles to go". Started April 2nd 2015, first trip August 2nd 2015.

viewtopic.php?f=50&t=63145
booyah
The 300 Club

Postby KennethW » Thu Jan 26, 2017 1:50 pm

booyah wrote:swap gasoline for carb cleaner and thats how I do it.
With carb cleaner WEAR gloves. it will harm your skin. The biggest cause of bearing failing is being to tight and not packing the grease thru the bearing. If you want to save the seal drive it out with the bearing race. That way you don't bend the seal.
KennethW
1000 Club
1000 Club

Postby QueticoBill » Thu Jan 26, 2017 2:11 pm