Buying Camping Trailers on Craigslist

General Discussion about almost anything Teardrop or camping related

Buying Camping Trailers on Craigslist

Postby dkitt4jc » Thu Jul 20, 2017 2:57 pm

I've seen some decent listings on my local Craigslist for popups and other small campers. At least they seem decent to me. I don't currently own one, but I'm in the market. However, I have no experience buying something that large and relatively expensive in that manner. Has anyone here ever bought a camper or trailer from Craigslist? If so, how did it go? Was it a good deal? Any recommendations on how to proceed with a perspective purchase, or should I just stay away from Craigslist altogether?

Thanks,
Don
dkitt4jc
Teardrop Inspector

Re: Buying Camping Trailers on Craigslist

Postby les45 » Thu Jul 20, 2017 4:32 pm

I bought my donor pop-up for my latest project on Craigslist and it was a great experience. Buying on Craigslist is like buying anything else used: you have to know what you want and how to inspect it before purchasing. It's still buyer beware. Here are some tips I would recommend:

1. Start out with the Craigslist email communication and ask for additional pics and description. Ask questions about anything you want to know that may not be in the ad. (previous owners, how much use, mileage, etc.)

2. Call the seller and get a "gut feel" about them from the personal contact.

3. Vette the seller through any available internet info. Search Facebook and Google search the person's name, phone number, or personal email (if available).

4. Arrange to meet the person in a public place. Many local police departments are making their parking lots available for Craigslist sales. Parking lots at big box stores where there are lots of people are always good. If they really want to sell, they will accommodate you by bringing their item to a safe place.

5. Only meet in the daytime. Don't meet after dark even in a public place.