Couple of questions

General Discussion about almost anything Teardrop or camping related

Couple of questions

Postby jamie296 » Tue Aug 08, 2017 1:05 pm

Ok, so I've read a little bit on the site and then joined and read some more. I started reading the 699 pages of thrifty alternatives but I haven't completely found my answer, it seems that is more geared toward foamies. I'm hoping that in the next year or so, maybe a little longer, i can start building one for my wife and i to travel a little.
I am a novice wood worker, I've built and sold a few pieces of furniture and have quite a few pieces in my house now. My wife and i both love the vintage pieces from the 40s and 50s. I am wanting to build one with wood sides and maybe do some sort of protective varnish or something to protect the wood. I am thinking of making ribs out of 3/4 birch sandwiched together to make an inch and half ribs about ine and a half to two inches and about 12" apart across the top all the way down to the hatch and then filling in the open spaces with foam. Then I will cover the top with a canvas using the the titebond method and then possibly painting the top. The hatch and all will be done this way, making the hatch lighter and ultimately making the tear drop lighter. I will build my own windows and doors. I do plan to create those same ribs for the inside walls as well. Does this sound like a good start? I am looking create a cost effective way to build a tear drop and i would like to also keep a somewhat vintage look to my tear drop as well.
I did plan on maybe using a harbor freight trailer or a trailer I can find locally or on Craigslist. 1/2 flooring would be used and then I will find some hardwood flooring to put down as my finished floor. This is the beginning of my plan. I haven't thought through the inside yet but if this sounds feasible then this is where I would like to start and then I will start planning my electrical.
Thanks for any help on this
Jamie