Noob, Looking to Get a TD...

General Discussion about almost anything Teardrop or camping related

Noob, Looking to Get a TD...

Postby ceedub1170 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 10:02 pm

I've been camping for 25 years. Started out in a tent, moved to a tent trailer, then hybrid, then 25 foot trailer, then on to a 30 footer. A few years ago we planted our trailer on a permanent site. We love it, but I really missed travelling around and seeing different parts of the country. So, last year, I bought a tent and started tenting again. I loved it! But, I hate the setup and takedown...especially in the rain.

I love the idea of getting a teardrop, but they aren't cheap. It'll be hard for me to convince my wife that we need 2 trailers. So, buying new is out of the question. I think I have enough skill to build one, but I'm a perfectionist and my skills aren't good enough to make it perfect. So, i will definitely not be happy with the final product.

So my question is, where can you find/buy a good used trailer? I live in Canada and there is absolutely nothing available on any of the used sites.

On an aside...I was looking at the Taxa trailers and they look amazing! But at $25000-$30000, I might have to win the lottery to get one. Lol
ceedub1170
Teardrop Inspector

Re: Noob, Looking to Get a TD...

Postby KTM_Guy » Tue Feb 06, 2018 11:58 pm

Hello my name it Todd and I'm a recovering perfectionist. I am building a drop now and I find myself sanding with 320 sandpaper, and recutting a piece of wood be cause it in off by a 64th. :? I keep telling myself it is a camper, not fine furniture.

If you have some tools, and the minimum skill to use them go for it. Probably more important is the room to build. Who says it has to be perfect? Is your trailer you have now up to your perfectionist standards? Because unless it is a custom one-off build I can almost guarantee it is not anywhere close to perfect. In fact an 8th grade wood shop class can probably build better.