Anybody with utility patent experience?

General Discussion about almost anything Teardrop or camping related

Anybody with utility patent experience?

Postby downsouthcamper » Thu Jun 07, 2018 5:04 pm

I have been working on and off for the past two years on a new and, what I believe to be, a totally revolutionary design in teardrop campers. The beauty in this design is its versatility and space-saving ability that is totally different than anything I have seen. I have put a huge amount of work into this design and I am looking forward to the day I can reveal the camper, however, after this investment in time and resources, I feel the need to protect my intellectual property via a utility patent and potentially design patents. I think this design could be an enormous hit in a community like this, but getting to that point is where I struggle, generally with a lack of knowledge. I have a working (and beautiful) prototype and I am ready to take the next step, get a utility patent, and start production. Problem is, a utility patent will cost me roughly $25,000 that I don't have, so I'm stuck at square one. Any ideas???
downsouthcamper
Teardrop Inspector

Re: Anybody with utility patent experience?

Postby John61CT » Thu Jun 07, 2018 5:21 pm

Find investors. First investment, solid NDAs for further investors.

Then secure patents.

Then crowdfund.
John61CT
1000 Club
1000 Club

Postby Shadow Catcher » Thu Jun 07, 2018 6:05 pm

You can protect it for the time being bu doing the description and mailing it to yourself and keeping the sealed letter that is post marked and dated, proves you had the idea at a particular point in time. There are various libraries that have the patent office library i.e Toledo Ohio. Research filing a patent you can be taken advantage of.
https://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/getting-patent-yourself-29493.html
Shadow Catcher
Donating Member

Postby KTM_Guy » Thu Jun 07, 2018 9:28 pm