Drop down table design ideas

General Discussion about almost anything Teardrop or camping related

Drop down table design ideas

Postby Teconic » Sun Sep 05, 2004 9:32 pm

Hello Mike, et al,

I was motivated by the RV Crazy show to learn more about Teardrops and found myself on your great forum. I have a couple of newbie questions:

1. Has anyone completed a Weekender? It's a fantastic concept and I'd like to try to build one...but I'd really like to see some pictures of a finished one, and,

2. Since it rains a lot in New England, I would like a trailer that one (or two) could sit inside in reasonable comfort for extended periods but could quickly break the table down into a bed. I saw a few mock up pictures, but I'm no ergonomic engineer. Is there a resource for interior design ideas?

Thanks for hosting this cool forum.
Teconic
Teardrop Inspector

Postby mikeschn » Mon Sep 06, 2004 5:28 am

Hi Teconic,

Well, you're too early. No one has finished a Weekender yet. It sounds like you have already see the mockup photos so you have a clue what a finished Weekender might look like. I'm still working on the details for simplicity... :D

To be able to sit inside for extended periods of time, you would need either a dropped floor, or a 5' tall teardrop. Then you can put in a table like this...

Maybe you are the one that's going to build a 5' tall version of the Weekender???

Mike...
The quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten, so build your teardrop with the best materials...
mikeschn
Site Admin

5 ft Weekender?

Postby Teconic » Mon Sep 06, 2004 8:18 am

Hey Mike,

I thought that might be the case (too early). Wondered why a concept that appeared to be such a good idea hadn't actually been built. I'll be following your progress on the insulated Weekender.

I think that a 5x5x10 layout may be more appropriate than the more typical 4x4x8 for me. I'm 6'3" and there's no modifying those dimensions.