Filling holes and joints...

General Discussion about almost anything Teardrop or camping related

Filling holes and joints...

Postby mikeschn » Wed Sep 15, 2004 4:20 am

Hey Arne,

Good to hear you got the CPES and the Uniflex 255. I was surprised you didn't get any filler. Are you going to have any holes or joints that need filling? What's your plan to take care of that?

Here's what I used...

Mike...

P.S. I have no affilation with Dr. Rot. I'm just a happy customer!!!
The quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten, so build your teardrop with the best materials...
mikeschn
Site Admin

Postby Arne » Wed Sep 15, 2004 5:36 am

The filling should be minor... I am an airplane modeler and will be using 30 minute epoxy mixed with 'wood flour', mixed to a peanut butter consistency.

I have a few joints, but those will be covered with 2 inch glass cloth and epoxy, feathered on the edges...

None of this is structural, just doing it for joint integrity....

This a.m. I will waste 2 hours fixing a 'problem' I created for myself yesterday where two pieces on the front curve meet. I was tired and rushing and between 2 joists, the curve doesn't match. So I will dremel the narrow piece (12" wide) and refit the curve..... I get very annoyed about doing this, as it was my own fault...

Actually I did the fitting correctly, I just didn't pay attention when brading it in place and I think the joist was a bit twisted.... In any event, a couple of hours down the drain on an already tight schedule.

I didn't post the pic yesterday, but the interior paneling is done. After the fix today, insulation and the outside cover will get started. The shell should be all finished (rough state) tomorrow night.
www.freewebs.com/aero-1
---
I hope I never get too old to play (Arne, Sept 11, 2010)
Arne
Mr. Subject Line

Postby Arne » Wed Sep 15, 2004 4:00 pm