Angle iron wall supports, anybody?

Anything to do with mechanical, construction etc

Angle iron wall supports, anybody?

Postby WarPony » Wed Sep 29, 2004 10:16 pm

Wouldn't an angle iron wall frame with wood and foam filler be more sturdy than a totally wooden wall? The weight increase from using a framework of angle iron would not concern me that much, but the strength, I think, would be so much better.
(1) Will the different expansion rates of wood and metal tear the thing apart in time?
(2) Doesn't the bouncing and twisting of a wooden tear tear it apart anyway?
I am no professional woodworker by any stretch of the imagination and I've seen some very nice wooden trailers, but I don't have the skills nor the tools to do most of what I've seen done.
ImageImage

Still a million dollars away from being a millionaire!!
WarPony
Donating Member

Postby Arne » Thu Sep 30, 2004 6:07 am

You are over complicating things.... If you glue/screw plywood and studs, in box shape, it will be incredibly strong....
www.freewebs.com/aero-1
---
I hope I never get too old to play (Arne, Sept 11, 2010)
Arne
Mr. Subject Line

Postby mikeschn » Thu Sep 30, 2004 4:24 pm

Hey Warpony...

Arne is right... don't make things harder than they really are... A teardrop is nothing more than a simple wooden box with a cabinet or two inside...

And a wooden box is very strong.

And if you use pine, it can be very strong and light at the same time!!!

:wink:

Mike...
The quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten, so build your teardrop with the best materials...
mikeschn
Site Admin

Postby WarPony » Thu Sep 30, 2004 5:51 pm

I do tend to "over engineer" things and drive myself crazy trying to get it right the first time. I just wondered if any one had used metal for the walls, that's all.
ImageImage

Still a million dollars away from being a millionaire!!
WarPony
Donating Member

Postby Larry Messaros » Fri Oct 01, 2004 2:27 am