Aluminum Bolt Together Frame?

Anything to do with mechanical, construction etc

Aluminum Bolt Together Frame?

Postby mlhwild » Mon May 16, 2005 9:37 pm

Newbie Question?

Can you build an Aluminum Bolt Together Frame that will be strong enough and if yes, what size mateials should you use? What would be the weight savings?
mlhwild
Teardrop Inspector

Postby IraRat » Tue May 17, 2005 7:21 am

I'm no structural engineer, but do you want it aluminum to lower the final towing weight? There are a bunch of bolt-together steel trailer kits that aren't real heavy, and that have actual rated loads that you can depend on.

Unless you've done this kind of thing before, the trailer would be the last thing I would want to experiment with.
--Ira

"My HD and Wal-Mart have been out of Titebond for weeks, and I think it's a communist conspiracy."
IraRat
Forum Storyteller

Postby SteveH » Tue May 17, 2005 12:42 pm

mlhwild,

First, welcome to the forum. I know you will enjoy it and learn a lot while you're at it. At least, I know I have.

About the aluminum trailer frame, yes there is no reason that I know of why it couldn't be done. Don't know what size material you would need to use as I am not a mechanical engineer. I would think only slightly larger than what would be acceptable in steel, and most people that build their own frames prefer 2" X 1/8" square tubing. If you are going to do a bolt together frame, channel would be more pratical than tubing. I would think 3" channel would be strong enough for a teardrop frame in aluminum, but that is just an estimate on my part.

I would think, however that the weight savings would not justify the additional cost of an aluminum frame, but that is just a quess on my part as I have not priced aluminum structural material.

Why don't you get some prices on aluminum and let us know what you find out?
SteveH
Calling an illegal alien an "undocumented immigrant"is like calling a drug dealer an "unlicensed pharmacist ".
SteveH
2000 Club