Spraying on Spar Urethane with a HVLP Sprayer

Anything to do with mechanical, construction etc

Spraying on Spar Urethane with a HVLP Sprayer

Postby jonw » Sun Jun 08, 2014 1:38 pm

Every few years I re-coat the woody sides of my teardrop with Minwax Helmsman Spar Urethane so the UV inhibitors in it will protect the wood from fading. I just did it so I thought I'd take and share some pictures in case it helps anyone else thinking of doing this.

I am by no means an expert at this. The first time I used an HVLP sprayer was when I built my teardrop and was unhappy with the finish on the sides from brushing. The second time was when I painted the aluminum on the roof as documented in my refurb journal (in my signature below). I've found with a little care and practicing on scrap wood or cardboard I got great results. You probably can too...

I bought the absolute cheapest HVLP (high velociy, low pressure) sprayer from Harbor Freight http://www.harborfreight.com/20-oz-8-cfm-gravity-feed-spray-gun-67181.html that happens currently to be on sale for $9.99. NOTE that it's coated with oil to protect it from rust so you have to clean it before first use with some mineral spirits, which is good practice for cleaning it after each use.

One thing about this model sprayer is it does not come with a wrench for removing the interior nozzle for cleaning and HF doesn't sell one even though the instructions that come with the sprayer says they do. I just used a large channel pliers to grip the outside of the nozzle to loosen it enough to unscrew it. I chewed up the outside of it a little bit but that won't affect it's performance and it will be hand tight and loosen-able going forward.