Piano vs Hurricane Galley Hinge

Anything to do with mechanical, construction etc

Piano vs Hurricane Galley Hinge

Postby Wobbly Wheels » Mon Dec 29, 2014 2:31 am

This seems like something that should have been kicked around ad nauseum by now, but a search came up dry.
I've found one supplier for Hurricane hinges in Canada but it's a bit more than I want to spend on one. Getting one across the border is out as well, so I'm left with either forking out for the right stuff or getting a stainless piano hinge through my marine wholesaler (boatbuilder and marine tech by trade). Don't get me wrong, I have no problem if its the only thing that works...but I don't think it is:

The piano hinge I'm looking at is 3" wide and made from .060 (IIRC) 304. I'll have a strip of thin belting over the outside of the hinge and screwed in via the same fasteners so leakage shouldn't be a problem. I'll also have room on the spar below the hinge to rabbet for a seal if need to. Any thoughts/problems/concerns spring to mind with this arrangement ?

(Paper standing in for belting)

Wobbly Wheels
Donating Member

Re: Piano vs Hurricane Galley Hinge

Postby 48Rob » Mon Dec 29, 2014 8:07 am

Water can leak around the fasteners through the belting.
The puckered material, when the hatch is closed, will have to "go" somewhere.
Will there be a recess?
If so, where will the water go that collects in the recess?

Using fabric or rubber with a piano hinge will work, but it works much better on top of the hinge.
The biggest consideration is sealing all the penetrations.screw holes, and letting a bit of hinge hang over the sides to direct water from abouve the hinge to exit over the side, instead of following the hinge and going inside.

Rob
Waiting for "someday" will leave you on your deathbed wondering why you didn't just rearrange your priorities and enjoy the time you had, instead of waiting for a "better" time to come along...
48Rob
Super Lifetime Member