does underside of floor need framed?

Anything to do with mechanical, construction etc

does underside of floor need framed?

Postby Poorlytiedfly » Fri Jan 22, 2016 8:43 am

Is it necessary to frame the underside of your floor? I am just beginning my build and have a custom built frame and was planning to start with a laminate floor consisting of 1/2" ply + 1"x2" frame/insulation + 1/4" ply top skin (all screwed and glued). If I build this way do I also need a lumber frame on the bottom of the 1/2" ply floor resting on top of the trailer frame? Seems a bit pointless...
Poorlytiedfly
Teardrop Advisor

Re: does underside of floor need framed?

Postby daveesl77 » Fri Jan 22, 2016 8:52 am

I way, way overbuilt mine, so your numbers are probably fine. With Conch Fritter it has a 9" overhang on the sides and 12" on the rear. My floor structure is 1/2" ply, 1" framing I made, fully filled with eps foam board, then 1/2" on top. Everything is glued and screwed together. The bottom of the floor is coated with PMF, the top with the "mix". I can jump up and down on an overhang corner and no movement at all. Yes, it added strength, but also a bunch of wasted weight. If I do another, the max I'll go is 3/8ply, 3/4 insulation, 3/8 ply.

My floor deck is throughbolted to the frame, using nylon washers and silicone between the deck and frame. All bolt holes are filled with silicone.

If you aren't doing an overhang, then your design will be rock solid.

dave
Dave and Regina - Enjoying old age, a LOT!

Build Journal - http://www.tnttt.com/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=62386
daveesl77
Donating Member

Postby Woodbutcher » Fri Jan 22, 2016 9:09 am

I kept using less for my floors on each build. The current trailer only has a 1/2" floor. My frame has cross members every 18" so those support most of the weight. I used a good exterior grade plywood with exterior glue and coated both sides well with waterproof finishes. Works fine and keeps the weight down.
Woodbutcher
Platinum Donating Member