Carpeting walls techniques

Anything to do with mechanical, construction etc

Carpeting walls techniques

Postby lacofdfireman » Sun Apr 17, 2016 5:47 pm

Looking to put a very low pile carpet on the inside walls of my build. Just wondering what techniques people Mashable with doing this?

Is it best to glue down or staple? If glue what brand do you use

Is it best to do the sides first or the bottom floor where I'll be sleeping or does it not even matter? Any suggestions appreciated as I've never done caper before. Also how do you cut it to fit perfect in the corners etc?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
lacofdfireman
Teardrop Master

Re: Carpeting walls techniques

Postby GuitarPhotog » Sun Apr 17, 2016 8:04 pm

I used a carpet product called Hull Liner to cover the interior of my trailer. Since my frame is metal and I didn't want to drill a bunch of holes in it, I just used high-temp hot glue to glue the hull liner to the walls.I did the walls first because they were easiest, then the ceiling, then the interior of the storage lockers.

You don't really have to carpet the floor if you are using a foam mattress. My floor is just bare plywood but I have a 5" thick foam mattress over it, so it's fine.

<Chas>
:beer:
GuitarPhotog
Silver Donating Member

Postby MtnDon » Sun Apr 17, 2016 8:34 pm

Ditto the hullliner!!! It is great stuff. I used the same stuff as GuitarPhotog... literally. I bought his leftovers. :D I used 3M Fastbond 30NF (non flammable) contact adhesive on the walls and ceiling inside the trailer. On the hulliner I used spray on 3M adhesive just like GuitarPhotog did as the Fastbond NF soaks into the hulliner too much. That I sprayed on a windless day, in the garage with the overhead door opened. The FB30NF is not cheap, but is an excellent adhesive and a quart goes a very long way. Applied with a small roller.
Our 6x12 deep vee nose cargo trailer camper conversion... viewtopic.php?f=42&t=58336