Tongue Balance - Propane Tank / Spare Tire?

Anything to do with mechanical, construction etc

Postby Woodchuck_Finn » Sun Oct 02, 2016 7:24 pm

Hi all,

I think I posted on the newbie tab a year ago shortly after I bought my Harbor Freight 4'x8' trailer kit and embarked on this new project. It's been a while building, but I think my teardrop is about ready to go! I just got it registered and took it for a spin (nice and slow, around the neighborhood) to get a feel for things.

I'm totally new to towing trailers in general, so I could use some advice. I have no idea how much my trailer weighs, but I'm assuming it's pretty light as I tried to be conscious of that in my build and I didn't notice any difference in the way my little 4 cylinder car was accelerating or braking as I towed it today. Seemed like there was a lot of bouncing and jostling back there whenever I hit little bumps in the road. Not sure if that's normal or not?

Someone mentioned to me that I should add more weight to the tongue to balance the trailer on the hitch better and get more control. I've seen rigs where there is a spare tire or a propane tank on the tongue. How are those usually secured? Would it be safe to mount a propane tank like that?

Any other tips are welcome or point me in the right direction if there's another thread. Just trying to brainstorm this one.

Thank you!

Finn
Woodchuck_Finn
Teardrop Inspector

Postby Padilen » Sun Oct 02, 2016 7:39 pm

You can buy spare tire mounts here's one type.
And propane tank racks. Single and double tanks.
Or make your own.
Padilen
Donating Member

Re: Tongue Balance - Propane Tank / Spare Tire?

Postby lrrowe » Sun Oct 02, 2016 7:56 pm

I have a much heavier CT and full size TV so I have no problem with tanks and a spare on the tonque.
I would expect you should have no problem with yours. I did a quick search on propane and a trailer tonque and got these results. You might get some ideas from the non-CT posts.