Cabinet construction

Anything to do with mechanical, construction etc

Cabinet construction

Postby jgerqano » Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:06 pm

I am a cabinet maker by trade and I usually over build and make cabinets that would last through a nuclear bomb. I am trying to change my way of thinking as I am building my interior cabinets to save on weight. I found a picture of the way I would build if weight were not a consideration. I am thinking of a face frame and bottom only but I know the picture attached is a better way to build for strength. Can anyone give me some insight. Will a skeleton build with sparse materials hold up with the rigors of the road, or should I build them like the attach pic?
Attachments
ccc9c96810d85ed8a42e3e9dcda6bac5_10.jpg
ccc9c96810d85ed8a42e3e9dcda6bac5_10.jpg (164.33 KiB) Viewed 1689 times
jgerqano
Teardrop Advisor

Re: Cabinet construction

Postby Woodbutcher » Wed Feb 22, 2017 8:09 am

I am just like you. As a cabinet maker we rarely worry about weight when building a project. But teardrops are a project were weight can be very important. So I have tried to reduce my cabinets to bare minimum.

Here are a couple shots of my last trailer. All the interior cabinets were face frame and bottoms. Most had 1/4" bottoms and 1/8th inch vertical dividers. My exterior is 1/4" no interior paneling. I reduced the weight from my first build by about 1/2.

There are many ways to build a teardrop. I say they are like snowflakes in that each one is different. Find what works for you with the style of camping you prefer and enjoy the building process. It is a huge part of the fun. I am just starting my 4th trailer and it is a much different style but the same building practices will be used.
Woodbutcher
Platinum Donating Member

Postby swoody126 » Wed Feb 22, 2017 8:23 am

the POCKET SCREW impresses me more and more each time i see how folks are able to strengthen their build and reduce the weight necessary for a sound product