Attaching walls to the floor.

Anything to do with mechanical, construction etc

Attaching walls to the floor.

Postby dncnryn » Sat Mar 18, 2017 6:21 pm

I have searched all over this site but am still quite confused...

I got an old pop up camper. Roughly 6x9, which will make a pretty great sized camper. I plan on making a Benroy or a variation of it. I will put 2x2 wood framing over the metal frame with marine grade ply wood over that. Insulation will go in between all the 2x2s. (Also not quite sure what kind of 2x2 wood or bolts I should use for this and connecting to the frame.)

My question is, what is the best (structurally) way to attach the walls to the floor? Should I just bolt the side walls to the 2x2s that are also bolted to the frame?(Also, what type of bolts or screws?) I feel like over time the movement of the trailer and weight of the entire top would wear down quite a bit.

I am very new to this and very new to building in general... I appreciate any advice I will get here.
dncnryn
Teardrop Inspector

Re: Attaching walls to the floor.

Postby QueticoBill » Sat Mar 18, 2017 7:53 pm

Check this sticky in general construction. I like the internal cleat but all are viable. http://tnttt.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=19442
QB
A tear with no name: viewtopic.php?f=50&t=67624
QueticoBill
Silver Donating Member

Postby dncnryn » Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:49 pm

QueticoBill wrote:Check this sticky in general construction. I like the internal cleat but all are viable. http://tnttt.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=19442

So basically just bolt something to the floor and then bolt the side wall to that while simultaneously resting on the floor itself? Makes sense. Any suggestions on what type of bolts need to be used?
dncnryn
Teardrop Inspector

Postby QueticoBill » Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:52 am