Tire Pressures and looking for materials (plywood)

Anything to do with mechanical, construction etc

Tire Pressures and looking for materials (plywood)

Postby DanD » Tue Aug 31, 2004 5:47 pm

Hello All...

As a new Teardrop builder, I have been proceeding slowly, trying to follow the Kuffel Creek plans for a Cubby. I bought a 1800# Harbor Freight Trailer, got it assembled, decided to paint it as the red was just not for me. I decided to remove the plate off the tongue so I could paint behind it. Does anybody elses trailer have these outrageous tire pressures listed? 120 pounds? sound like a accident waiting to happen. The trailer came with 5.30 x 12 tires and tire pressures are listed as 80 pounds max cold.

I have the trailer decked and have not been able to locate 3/8" AC plywood in this area. Been to five different lumber yards. Everyone has BC but I plan on putting aluminum over it. BC is a little rough. Does anyone have a recommendation as an alternative?

I cant seem to find 1/8" luan either. Funny story about that. Went into Home Depot and one of their 'experts' told me that Luan was an endangered species and they will not carry it any more. :lol:
Went back the next day and 1/4" was back on the racks.....

Since I am south of Atlanta, I will get the phone book out and look for lumber yards further north.

Anybody in the Atlanta area building a tear?
DanD
Teardrop Advisor

Postby mikeschn » Tue Aug 31, 2004 6:12 pm

Dan,

120 PSI does sound really high. Once you start towing your teardrop you'll probably adjust the tires so that it doesn't bounce as much.

As for luan, some speciality plywood shops have it in 1/8" thickness. The Home Depots and Lowes won't carry it, because it's not a high volume item.

Regarding your 3/8" plywood, BC is plenty good. You'll be floating the aluminum any ways.

Mike...
The quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten, so build your teardrop with the best materials...
mikeschn
Site Admin