Putting The Pop-Up Away... For Now

Did you just design your very own teardrop or tiny trailer? Want to discuss it? Here's the place to post your design for discussion!

Putting The Pop-Up Away... For Now

Postby Guest » Tue Sep 21, 2004 5:35 pm

My goal was to have a trailer no taller than 4' in height, during transit.
That's why I initially "went" for the Pop-Up design. Well, as this teardrop thing took hold, I decided to nix the Pop-Up idea and go for the "true" teardrop design. (One that you can't stand up in and people can't believe that you actually sleep in it)
One asspect that carried over from the Pop-Up idea, was having the bed convert into benches, that surrounded a table. I was happy to find out that by adding only 6" to the height, I could accomplish my objective.
Being a woodworker, I naturally went for the woody thing, but again as this teardrop thing took hold of me, I have now decided to "skin" this little baby with sheet metal. My goal is to use stainless steel instead of aluminum. The cabin will have two doors, one which will exit to an outdoor enclosure, where the porta-potti and portable shower will be located. So far the only item that will have to ride elsewhere, is the custom smoking grill barbeque.
Here is my preliminary plan and I hope to have a full size profile template by this weekend:

I think it's pretty amazing how similar this design is to the Lil' Diner, although my profile may change a bit upon fabrication of the full size profile template, because I just couldn't quite get the "faired" look that I was after with my mouse.

Thanks to bg for making posting pictures in the message possible.

Postby mikeschn » Tue Sep 21, 2004 5:42 pm

Looking good... So is this a race to see who can get it built first? :lol:

BTW, polished Stainless Steel would look good on that too!!!

Mike...
The quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten, so build your teardrop with the best materials...
mikeschn
Site Admin