Escape Hatch is now 12 1/2' long...

Did you just design your very own teardrop or tiny trailer? Want to discuss it? Here's the place to post your design for discussion!

Escape Hatch is now 12 1/2' long...

Postby mikeschn » Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:32 pm

I started playing with the escape hatch again tonight... before I realized what had happened it had become a 14' monster... :o :o :o :? :? :?

I think I'd better go and sleep on that one!

Mike...
Last edited by mikeschn on Sun Jan 28, 2007 8:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
The quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten, so build your teardrop with the best materials...
mikeschn
Site Admin

Postby Elumia » Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:12 pm

Mike I can't imagine that you would want to be laying in bed and sitting in the dinette at the same time. Seems to me that the end of the bed could be one seat. If you wanted a back it could be hinged off the wall. that would save you the length of the seat - gets you to about 12'! (Or more if you got real creative)

Mark
Elumia
500 Club

Postby mikeschn » Thu Oct 26, 2006 4:28 am

Here's the 12' version, with the dinette seat on the bed...

Mike...

P.S. It's not 20' long like a Bambi!
The quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten, so build your teardrop with the best materials...
mikeschn
Site Admin

Postby angib » Thu Oct 26, 2006 6:29 am

Want to see a 1949 version?

OK, the Wessex folding caravan did only have canvas sides like a Kampmaster, but it has the folding back bulkhead.

Andrew
angib
5000 Club
5000 Club

Postby mikeschn » Thu Oct 26, 2006 6:29 pm

Mark,

It's not about using them at the same time, it's about being too lazy to set up the bed every night, and about finding a place to store the dinette seat while sleeping.

But I plan on looking at it several different ways before I start building.

Mike...

Elumia wrote:Mike I can't imagine that you would want to be laying in bed and sitting in the dinette at the same time.
mikeschn
Site Admin