The BO Camper

Did you just design your very own teardrop or tiny trailer? Want to discuss it? Here's the place to post your design for discussion!

The BO Camper

Postby fabjunkie » Wed Feb 06, 2008 4:10 pm

After watching Fornesto's and Steve F's ideas and projects come along, I wanted to put my own twist on a combination of both of theirs. They both had design cues that I really liked, so thanks to both. I just started playing with Sketchup a few days ago, so it's somewhat crude. It's probably slightly overbuilt, but I want something that can take a beating on the trail. I was really looking at the Adventure Trailers with a RTT when I came across this site and you guys got my wheels turning.

This is something I will build in a year or two, so I have plenty of time to fine tune it. Tires are 33's to match the truck. The bed will be three separate pieces so that it can be somewhat of a lounge chair and then lay out to be a long double bed. The cabin is 4.5'Wx4'hx10' total length. Two Scepter style cans on the front along with a regular trailer tongue toolbox for storage and wind deflection.

Water tank, battery and propane tank under the counter in the back. I know the propane tank should not be on it's side, so that's one of those fine tuning items. I'm going to use the PVC pipe tanks too rather than one big tank. I actually have a new Tacoma this will be pulled by, but there's not one drawn yet, so I put a mini in the drawing instead.

The frame is 2"x2" steel with 2"x3" for the tongue. When the time comes, I'll probably do the tongue as a V instead of a single beam.
fabjunkie
Teardrop Inspector

Postby mikeschn » Wed Feb 06, 2008 4:48 pm

That's pretty cool... I like it.

Maybe you should come up with an optimized Winter Warrior design for me!!! ;) :D

Mike...
The quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten, so build your teardrop with the best materials...
mikeschn
Site Admin

Postby Steve F » Wed Feb 06, 2008 4:56 pm