new design input

Did you just design your very own teardrop or tiny trailer? Want to discuss it? Here's the place to post your design for discussion!

new design input

Postby Team Varekai » Mon Oct 12, 2009 4:58 am

Hey all, I need some input and approval on my design. I'm brand new to this and can't wait to get started, that fever you all talk about, I got it. :? My girlfriend said it was a hotflash ( silly girl...... step off!) So with that said, I did a crude drawing in sketchup, it's been awhile since I've done anything with it, and want you alls input on my design. It will be 5 wide x 10 long and 5 high. My concerns are 1-axle placement, does it look ok? 2- galley hinge, is there a rule of thumb as to where to locate it? mine currently is planned for +/- 36". Also does my door look out of place? ANY suggestions or criticisms would be greatly appreciated, I have poured over literally 1000's of pics and read forums topics till I don't know up from down. I need to get this off paper and onto lumber before I suffer from over-design syndrome, :worship: I see what it's done to some of you...lol. BTW, my name is Darin and I live in Paso Robles, Ca. Can't wait to hear back from all yalls, Thanks. Image
Team Varekai
Teardrop Inspector

Postby Shadow Catcher » Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:30 am

Unless you really love the dark/cave experience, more/larger windows.
Is there a particular reason you are going with a 5' height?
Is this going to be a solo traveler or will there be two involved, if two then 5' wide unless you like turning over in tandem.
Shadow Catcher
Donating Member

Postby Rickxr2 » Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:46 am

Darin,
It's been a while, but I think I figured out how I wanted the interior cabinets, then placed the hatch hinge based on where the cabinets were. I would make the side door taller, it does look out of proportion, and you have plenty of room. Good luck on the build!

Rick
Image Image Image
Rickxr2
The 300 Club

Postby Team Varekai » Mon Oct 12, 2009 1:46 pm