Hexagonal designs

Did you just design your very own teardrop or tiny trailer? Want to discuss it? Here's the place to post your design for discussion!

Hexagonal designs

Postby Zack » Tue Jun 14, 2005 6:13 am

I was idly sketching a bit, and came to the realization that a profile that has the shape of an symerical extended hexagon seems awfully pretty to me.

This is the first design I came up with, I call it the "blimp" its a large canned ham sort of thing.

Then I came up with the "submarine" which has a more conventional 4' height, but has a pop up to give you standing height.

I'm not a designer like Andrew or Mike. These are obviously "back of the napkin" designs. But I notice a couple of things:

thing one: the hexagon shape Extends the lenth of the body past the edge of the trailer. On the submarine, a raised sleeping platform( shown in the sketch, but not labelled) could be parked in the corner of the hexagon, giving you about four feet square to stand and dress or shower. (using a Hartline portashower).

Thing two: Obviously, it has weekenderish ease of construction. Also the shape has a kind of zepplinesque steampunk look about it. I'd like to build a cardboard model to see how it looks in 3D.
Zack
Teardrop Builder

Postby Arne » Tue Jun 14, 2005 8:27 am

I like this 'thinking outside the box' stuff... If people stop asking me about my tear, just for ego sakes, I might have to build a mini-submarine....

One thing I will definitely do is try to keep the profile low to keep wind resistance down.... It would still be queen sized and it will be longer. The raised bed is very nice..... I'm getting tired of sand-in-the-bedding and raising the bed, lengthening the trailer for foot space, would help in several ways. It would allow 'foot dangling' for dressing, storage under the bed, etc.

more later, you have me thinking....
www.freewebs.com/aero-1
---
I hope I never get too old to play (Arne, Sept 11, 2010)
Arne
Mr. Subject Line