TD for 2 with a garage for bikes

Did you just design your very own teardrop or tiny trailer? Want to discuss it? Here's the place to post your design for discussion!

TD for 2 with a garage for bikes

Postby woodi » Fri Apr 12, 2013 12:59 pm

My wife and I are planning on leaving our jobs late this summer and spending some time traveling around the country To make our traveling much more enjoyable I'm entertaining the idea of building a teardrop style camper with a built in garage for our bikes. I'm a mechanical engineer by trade and have been putting quite a bit of work into designing a trailer for our needs. I've been doing lots of research on the matter and am now looking for some input from experienced TDers on the design.

Here's a quick overview shot of the design:

The key requirements are a place to sleep, a place for our two mountain bikes to be stored inside out of the rain and a galley so we always have a good place to cook. We would also like to keep it as much in the draft of my toyota matrix that will be pulling it as possible to maintain decent fuel economy. This trailer is also going to see no less than 10,000 miles this year and will be lived in, not just camped in for a weekend here and there so it's gotta hold up to everyday use.

The basic construction plan is to build on top of a 4x8 HD harbor freight trailer. 1/2" plywood floor bolted strait to the trailer frame to keep overall height as low as possible. Reinforced underneath by 1x2's where it overhangs the trailer on all sides. Walls will be frame out with 1x2's layed flat with 3/4" foam filling in the gaps and 5mm underlayment covering either side. On top of that I was thinking a painted on canvas or cloth finish to seal everything up top and roofing tar on the under side.