Our first tear/woody- feedback welcome!

Did you just design your very own teardrop or tiny trailer? Want to discuss it? Here's the place to post your design for discussion!

Our first tear/woody- feedback welcome!

Postby theDangerz » Sun Jul 21, 2013 9:49 am

Greetings all

I'm pretty new here, but have been feverishly reading over every detailed build thread i can find.
The amount of knowledge (and skill) in these pages is stunning. :worship:

I thought i would post the most recent version of our design and see if anyone has some feedback or ideas.
Like I said, i'm really new to this, so feel free to tell me if anything im planning is bad/dumb/a disaster waiting to happen.

Basically, we are looking to build a small/efficient tear to pull behind our mini (meaning im looking for lightweight).
Mostly our use will be for light camping and tailgating before games, but who knows...

We don't need much in terms of storage and are comfortable in tight spaces (we spent the last year living out of our VW bus while we drove through mexico and central america) so im thinking about using the 4x8 HF trailer but shortening it to 4x6.

Still working out the details as i "build" it board by board in sketchup, so let me know your thoughts and ideas!

Based upon what ive seen in other builds, im planning on a skeletal wall out of 3/4"ply with 1/8"skins and what seems to be referred to as the "steve" method of resting the interior ceiling on a ledge and blocking between the spars.

Past that...who knows, im just glad i found this forum before starting to cut! :twisted:

theDangerz
Teardrop Builder

Re: Our first tear/woody- feedback welcome!

Postby High Desert » Sun Jul 21, 2013 10:08 am

I like the profile you've drawn. It's different in a good way to my eyes. Nice interior space on a small footprint.