New FG teardrop design

Did you just design your very own teardrop or tiny trailer? Want to discuss it? Here's the place to post your design for discussion!

New FG teardrop design

Postby Mark Mckeeman » Tue Aug 31, 2004 11:23 am

Hi All,

I'm rather new at this but I did manage to upload a couple of my ideas in my personal gallery. Any and all comments welcome.

Thanks, Mark
Mark Mckeeman
Teardrop Master

Postby mikeschn » Tue Aug 31, 2004 11:32 am

Hey Mark,

Glad you figured out the album. Will you be able to upload the front and rear views as well?

Mike...
The quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten, so build your teardrop with the best materials...
mikeschn
Site Admin

Postby Mark Mckeeman » Tue Aug 31, 2004 11:42 am

Yes Mike,

I will upload the front and rear views as time permits. This was a bit of an experiment for me. As we discussed the fore and aft views do not comply with my goal of producing the tear in a one-piece mold. The sides have too much curvature in the lower third. My fabricator told me you need 5 degrees of break angle from vertical to allow the part to release from the mold. Another consideration is the depth of the mold or height of the tear as there is a limit to how far you can shoot chopped glass from the rim of the mold to the bottom. This is for thickness control and gassing off during cure. I’m learning a lot and having fun as I work through this process. I'll post the originals for conversation and redraw some sketches with the 5 degree break angle.
Mark Mckeeman
Teardrop Master

Postby mikeschn » Tue Aug 31, 2004 11:44 am

Okay, sounds good.

Can you do a 1 piece mold, or do you need a parting line due to the depth restriction of shooting fiberglass?

Mike...
The quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten, so build your teardrop with the best materials...
mikeschn
Site Admin

Postby Mark Mckeeman » Tue Aug 31, 2004 12:15 pm

Mike,