85 Jeep Scarmbler

Things that don't fit anywhere else...

85 Jeep Scarmbler

Postby ALAN GEDDES » Sat Nov 06, 2004 3:19 pm

Found a decent vehicle at reasonable price> This is like a Jeep with a little longer bed and a removeable short hardtop. Inline 6 cylindar engine. I have no experience with Jeep vehicles having never owned one or had any friends that were into them. . Any input would be appreciated. I really like the look of it and the longer wheelbase is a plus for long road trips. It would be easy to repaint and make it match my tear.
Alan
ALAN GEDDES
1000 Club
1000 Club

Postby mexican tear » Sun Nov 07, 2004 3:25 pm

The Scrambler is the most prized of the short wheel base Jeeps right now. They are the best for the road and they are the best for rock crawling.

I would love to have a scrambler.

Check out this forum http://bbs.off-road.com/ubbthreads/post ... djeepshort You may have ro go back a few pages to sign in or find what you want. Before Teardrops this is where I used to spend all of my time. Now my Jeep has a hole in the brake line and the master cylinder needs to be changed. I have all of the parts, however the time is spent working on the "Mexican Tear".

kai
"Essie" and the Mexican Tear
mexican tear
Donating Member

Postby David Grason » Tue Nov 16, 2004 10:43 am

In stock form, I really like the in line 6 cylinder engine. It doesn't have the horsepower of a V8 but it's no slouch. What it DOES have is loads of torgue down low where you need it for off roading unless you're racing the Baja at over 100mph. (I don't think so.) Also, the actual weight of the engine is less than a V8 and lower in the chassis giving the car better, more friendly manners off road. Yeah, this is only my opinion, but I really LOVE the inline 6.

In 1980, Jeep went from cast iron transmission and transfer cases to aluminum. So if you're going to do any serious off roading, I'd really consider some healthy rock guards for those.