Electrical questions

Anything electric, AC or DC

Electrical questions

Postby jimbo69ny » Fri Nov 23, 2018 10:13 pm

I need help understanding/designing my future electrical system in my teardrop.

I have a one of a kind build happening. I am building a range extending teardrop for my EV. (Check out and subscribe to my youtube channel for more info. http://www.youtube.com/jimbo69ny No one in the world has ever attempted this before.

I need a some help with my electrical system ironically enough. lol Because I have an EV, I need to save as much weight as possible. I need to get this right. I will be pulling around a 1330lb lithium ion Tesla 85kwh battery pack with a foamie on top. I am looking for an electrical solution to use my 300-400 v DC battery to power lights, usb plugs, and AC plugs. I have a lot of experience with 12v car audio/video and quite a bit with 120v/240v home but none with inverters.

I know this isn't a normal topic here but there has to be an electrical engineer in here somewhere. :worship:

As far as I can tell I need a powerful DC to DC converter as opposed to a large 12v battery bank correct? I already have a large battery, I dont need an additional 12v battery bank right?
I have heard of people hacking the Prius DC to DC converter but I haven't researched it yet.

I cant imagine I would have a very high draw. I will have lights, my wife and I need a coffee maker, and I will have a ceramic heater for the winter.
Is there a 300-400v DC to 120/240 AC converter that you would recommend?
The inverter could be liquid or air cooled, either way I would make it work.
jimbo69ny
Teardrop Master

Re: Electrical questions

Postby friz » Fri Nov 23, 2018 11:21 pm