Small teardrop DC/AC plans (wiring diagram review)

Anything electric, AC or DC

Small teardrop DC/AC plans (wiring diagram review)

Postby ryccoCA » Mon Jan 18, 2021 6:29 pm

Hello, I would like to consult my plans for wiring my teardrop trailer as well as get any recommendations for materials and ideas.
Bear with me, this is my first attempt :)

Its a small 5x8 teardrop that will be running primarily 12V but I want to have a 120V available when connected to shore power (with an option to get inverter in the future)

There will be no large draw on the 120V AC system, no air-conditioning, largest item will be 300W ceramic heater and a laptop charger.
The 12V DC system will be running the interior / exterior lights as well as couple 10Amp 12V outlets.

The 12V DC portion is pretty straight-forward, I am setting the solar part with 10AWP and 30Amp breaker/switches ready to accept up to 300W solar in case I want to expand.
The battery will be grounded to the frame, but all wires will have a return wire as I dont want to use frame as return path.

Majority of my question is around the 120V AC side of the things and about recommendations for materials (which i will get to later).

1. Should i have any EMS / Surge protector on the shore power? I've read people are recommending those because campsites are usually very inconsistent, but I could find are made for 30Amp plugs (for larger RVs).
Should I get one for my small 15Amp circuit and are there any regular outlet 15Amp EMS ? .. I can always get a regular outlet surge protector probably.

2. I want to have breaker/switch on the 15Amp shore power input, which will be grouned to frame (to prevent hot skin). The second breaker will be the system that goes into the trailer, and will just regullary plug into an outlet inside tongue box.
This is just a simple solution so that I can add a inverter in the future and plug the rest of the system in it, while leaving the battery charger connected to the shore power only plug.