Protecting Battery Heater Pad Wiring

Anything electric, AC or DC

Protecting Battery Heater Pad Wiring

Postby foxontherun » Tue Feb 13, 2024 5:22 pm

Good afternoon,
I have some concern over the heater pad wiring getting snagged by the aluminum plate over time with road vibrations. I have two Newtipower 300 AH Batteries with a gap between them at the bottom of about 1/2". I was planning to mount the wiring up on the side of the battery in that gap since the wiring comes out between the two batteries. I am concerned where the wiring coming out from under the aluminum piece it could snag the edge of the aluminum sheet. (Under the batteries will be silicone trivet pad - then heater pads (4) - then aluminum sheet - then the batteries). Side note: the batteries are butted up to each other at the top; they taper as they go down to the bottom hence the 1/2" gap between them.

I have zero experience with Kapton tape but I have bought some to wrap around the aluminum sheets and thought maybe I could use some kapton tape to tape the wiring down where it comes out from under the aluminum and that it might offer some protection assuming the kapton tape will adhere to the silicone trivet pad. The wires on the heating pads appear to be 22 GA so they are quite thin.

Any thoughts or suggestions on how to best protect the wires would be much appreciated.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0794 ... UTF8&psc=1

Thanks,
Harry
foxontherun
Teardrop Master

Re: Protecting Battery Heater Pad Wiring

Postby featherliteCT1 » Tue Feb 13, 2024 6:47 pm

Depending on the gauge thickness of your aluminum sheet, maybe edge trim on each sheet would work.

https://www.amazon.com/Rubber-Channel-P ... =1-30&th=1

trim edge jpg.jpg
trim edge jpg.jpg (12.68 KiB) Viewed 199 times

Or, maybe make your own by slitting some thin rubber tubing glued on with silicone caulking.
featherliteCT1
1000 Club
1000 Club

Postby foxontherun » Tue Feb 13, 2024 7:28 pm