My Benroy Plans...

Here is a generic building plan for a teardrop designed by the members of T&TTT.

My Benroy Plans...

Postby ScubbaStv » Fri Jun 27, 2008 10:56 am

OK I'm new to this and have recently fallen in love with the teardrop/benroy camper and have decided to uild me one. Here are what I have come up with... Its 4' tall, 5' wide and 10' long. Please feel free to leave and suggestions or comments.

Frame
Outside
Inside
Galley

So what's everyone think???
(Edit) I've moved the air conditioner to below the inside cabinets in the bulkhead wall, but for some reason the picture won't refresh
ScubbaStv
Teardrop Inspector

Postby bobhenry » Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:04 am

Where is the exchange heat and condensed drainage exiting ?

Bob

Bye the way welcome
Growing older but not up !
bobhenry
Ten Grand Club
Ten Grand Club

Postby ScubbaStv » Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:10 am

There is a vent next to the air conditioner in the outside, and i was going to run a rubber hose from the drain to the bottom.
ScubbaStv
Teardrop Inspector

Postby Esteban » Sat Jun 28, 2008 12:11 am

The plan looks well thought out. Though the axle seems pretty far back for good trailer balance. Your hitch weight may be (too) high. Your axle position is 30% of the body length. The mid range of 40% from below would be 48" from the back for a 120" long trailer.

Here are the Rules of Thumb excerpted from the Trailer Balance information in the Design Library:

Axle Position, % of body length. Reasons to pick this value:

40% (eg, 38" from back for 8ft body) A reasonable compromise value for an average teardrop.

45% (eg, 43" from back for 8ft body) Tongue box. Light or no galley. Minimum safe hitch weight wanted.

35% (eg, 34" from back for 8ft body) Well-equipped/heavy galley. Long tongue. Heavier hitch weight wanted.
Steve - SLO, CA
Esteban
Donating Member

Postby mikeschn » Sat Jun 28, 2008 12:19 am

That looks like a good start.