Should the frame be covered by the sidewalls?

Here is a generic building plan for a teardrop designed by the members of T&TTT.

Yes, it looks more attractive that way. I'll make the chassis narrower!
74%
No, I'm a beginner. I can barely cut wood, much less steel. Keep it simple!
26%

Total votes : 148

Postby mikeschn » Thu Apr 14, 2005 9:18 am

Okay here's another question for the generic plans...

As a beginner would you want to see the frame, or would you want it hidden behind the side walls?

This is an important question because it could drive a lot of chassis changes.

This teardrop is going to be covered with aluminum. So I don't want my walls to be more than 5' apart, so the 5' wide aluminum can go right up to the edges.

If you want the chassis covered by the wall, that would mean I have to make the chassis narrower by the thickness of 2 walls.

Your choice?

Mike...
Last edited by mikeschn on Thu Apr 14, 2005 10:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
The quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten, so build your teardrop with the best materials...
mikeschn
Site Admin

Postby Woody » Thu Apr 14, 2005 9:43 am

Show the frame with the body on top with the option to cover the frame noted in the plans as an optional side note. If you are using an Standard HF trailer for design purposes why would this question come up? Am I missing something here? :thinking: There shouldn't be any chassis change right, that a beginner would have to attempt, it would be more of a trailer body diminsional question
Woody
The Tear Jerker's, Florida Chapter Director
E-mail: [email protected]
Tear jerker chapter site http://www.tearjerkers.net/forums/
Check the SE section for gathering information
Tear Jerkers new site http://www.tearjerkers.net/forums/
Enjoying life in 12 ounce increments is what it's about
Woody
2000 Club
2000 Club

Postby angib » Thu Apr 14, 2005 11:31 am