To extend or not to extend

Ask questions about Harbor Freight trailers, or questions about building your own...

To extend or not to extend

Postby johnandtricia » Wed Jul 09, 2014 10:45 pm

The wife and I decided to go with the Harbor Freight 4' x 8' 1720lb super duty trailer which I have yet to purchase. This is my first build so I have no clue. We are just going with the classic tear drop design. My question is first do I need to extend the tongue of the trailer 16" as most here do? And also moving the axle back 4 inches is there a bolt pattern to do this on the trailer or do I have to make my own holes?

I know that if I extend the tongue I must also change out the ball coupler as well.
johnandtricia
Teardrop Inspector

Re: To extend or not to extend

Postby bobhenry » Thu Jul 10, 2014 6:16 am

As you extend the tongue you have effectively moved the wheel rearward so there should be no need to do both.

I towed Chubby for almost 2 years with the stock tongue and was always concerned with the flex I experienced in the stock configuration. Adding a 2 x 2 in the center was reasonably simple and I was very impressed with the improver road manners and the ease of backing that was added by simply adding the 18" of tongue length. As a bonus you can actually cantilever the body forward 18 to 24 inches and give yourself a bit longer trailer without any problems.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
and here is Harvey's spin on the tongue and where I got my idea

Growing older but not up !
bobhenry
Ten Grand Club
Ten Grand Club

Postby Nobody » Thu Jul 10, 2014 3:19 pm