Northern Tool Trailer Wheel and Axle upgrade

Ask questions about Harbor Freight trailers, or questions about building your own...

Northern Tool Trailer Wheel and Axle upgrade

Postby aspenexcel » Mon Aug 08, 2016 10:17 am

Hey there,

I'm new to teardrops and need some hand holding when it comes to wheels and axles. We just purchased a new home made teardrop built on a standard Northern Tool Ironton 5x8 trailer frame. We live in Colorado where the speed limit is 75 mph and would feel more comfortable with wheels that can handler higher speeds at the manufacturer recommended 45 mph. We also find ourselves on dirt roads that are wash-boarded out and have some rocks and holes (we stay away from the 4x4 rated roads). We've searched the site and I'm even more confused now on how we should proceed. I'm hoping those that have actually upgrade their NT trailer can tell me exactly what they did, where they bought it etc... The more info the better.

Option 1: Purchase 14" wheels with a zero offset and spacers. Downside is spacers aren't super cheap, some manufacturers say to not use on a trailer and seem more like a quick fix.

Option 2: Purchase a new axle and 14" wheels. This option would cost a little bit more but might be worth it in the long run???

Fenders: Where did you get them? I'd love something either diamond plated or that baby moon look in black.

Not sure on any of the details on what we'd actually get for either option. We're also not set on 14" wheels. It could be 13" or 15". I'm hoping your experience can help us newbies make this process a bit more painless.

Thanks!!!
aspenexcel
Teardrop Inspector

Re: Northern Tool Trailer Wheel and Axle upgrade

Postby KennethW » Mon Aug 08, 2016 8:57 pm