box section size

Ask questions about Harbor Freight trailers, or questions about building your own...

box section size

Postby Irishexplorer » Sun Sep 13, 2020 7:03 am

Hi all, I am about to start building a lightweight chassis under 500kg with suspension for road use. Locally I can acquire 50x50mm, or I think 60x30mm. which one of these is recommended for strength and weight. Are there any handy plans that I could review?

Thanks for your time in advance, Tristan.
Irishexplorer
Teardrop Inspector

Re: box section size

Postby saywhatthat » Sun Sep 13, 2020 8:11 am

Il suffit de le faire
fast, cheap, fiberglass/ foam stressed skin panels
viewtopic.php?f=50&t=73945

Build 4.5 by 8' using Trailtop fiberglass Components
http://tnttt.com/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=70729
saywhatthat
500 Club

Postby tony.latham » Sun Sep 13, 2020 9:27 am

Are there any handy plans that I could review?

I think that 60x30 is a bit on the skinny side. (But I'm not an engineer.) I added a chassis design with material sizes on your other post.

:thinking:

Tony
tony.latham
Gold Donating Member

Postby Irishexplorer » Tue Sep 15, 2020 4:16 am

What about if the a-frame and the outside of the chassis is 50x50 box section but the ribs are 50x50 angle? Would that give enough strength?
Irishexplorer
Teardrop Inspector

Postby tony.latham » Tue Sep 15, 2020 9:40 am

Irishexplorer wrote:What about if the a-frame and the outside of the chassis is 50x50 box section but the ribs are 50x50 angle? Would that give enough strength?

Let's revisit my chassis plan.

That rear cross member (I think you are calling it a rib) is placed there primarily to support the weight of the water jug, battery and cooler in the galley. It's 50mm x 50mm 3mm thick angle.

The front cross member is square tubing because it's a structural member tying in the tongue (you call it the A-frame I think) to the frame.