Refurbishing and modifying an old 5x8 trailer

Ask questions about Harbor Freight trailers, or questions about building your own...

Refurbishing and modifying an old 5x8 trailer

Postby zephyr21 » Tue Dec 08, 2020 7:44 pm

Hi all,
This is my first build so apologies in advance for all the questions/lengthy post! This post is all about the trailer, and I want to be as thorough as possible before building the body to get the frame done right. I was able to get this one for free since the owner didn't want to fool with stripping the rotten decking off and fixing it up, so I figured it would help me get started on a cheap build! Fortunately, I have a friend who is great at welding to help me with frame additions/repairs.
-At first glance: Does anyone see anything that needs attention/repairs?
-Welding: I am planning on adding another piece of angle iron toward the front where there's a larger gap to increase durability. Also plan on welding some steps in front of the fenders. I have a toolbox that came with it (4' x 19" x 17.5") that I would like to put on the trailer's tongue. However the tongue seems too short so I am thinking of cutting it and adding an extension. Does anyone see any issues with that? Is a 5x8 trailer long enough for my girlfriend and 5'11" self if we are wanting a galley in the back?
-We are planning to take it off-road, mostly forest service and mountain passes, but nothing crazy like rock crawling. Should we upgrade suspension from leaf springs?
-Tires: They were flat and sat that way for so long they are warped and dry rotted. 16" rims but skinny tire. Thinking of upgrading to better wheels and tires if I can find a good deal. with 2.5" of space between current tire and fenders, what's the largest tire I can get away with? I'm open to cutting off these fenders and adding new ones.
-What should I do for weather/rust proofing?