Wheel and tire question

Lets captures all those good off road construction ideas here...

Moderator: Sonetpro

Wheel and tire question

Postby Paul Kinneberg » Fri Oct 29, 2010 6:52 pm

Hi all I am doing some research for an upcoming build and have two questions regarding wheels/ tires. I will be pulling my teardrop with a Wrangler Unlimited and only want to carry one spare for both the truck and the trailer. My first question is does the rim/tire combo have to be identical to work? So if I want to go with a 16" rim and 31" tire on the trailer will that work for an "emergency" spare on the jeep if I have 17" rims and 33" inch tires on it? Second other than bolt pattern and backspacing what do I need to watch for, if anything? Thanks in advance for your help. I am a fairly decent woodworker but the auto stuff is definately not my strong suit :)
Paul Kinneberg
Donating Member

Postby jss06 » Fri Oct 29, 2010 10:10 pm

I went the opposite direction. I planned my build so that it uses 30x9.5x15 tires and stock Jeep steel wheels. I then made sure my plans allowed sufficent clearance to use the 31x10.5x15 inch spare that I carry on the Jeep. Thankfully the different offset of the aluminum unlimited wheels makes up for the extra tire width.

I would rather have my spare match my tow vehicle than the trailer. The trailer won't care if its slightly off-kilter.
jss06
Palladium Donating Member

Postby Yuri4x4 » Sun Oct 31, 2010 9:06 am

For the Jeep:

It also depends if you have lockers... If your diffs are open, than you would be alright running one smaller tire on the Jeep, on the road (2wd). You shouldn't run in 4wd like this tho. (But, if it's not too large a difference, you could 'limp off the trail'.)