Hi from Round Rock, TX

This is the place where you can introduce yourself, and include a photo if so desired.

Hi from Round Rock, TX

Postby lanego » Wed Sep 27, 2006 12:10 pm

:pinktear: Just want to introduce myself a little more (I've met some of you on another thread). I just found teardrops about a month ago while looking for pop-up plans. I am in love - scratch the pop-up idea! I have been looking at everything I can find. Ooh, heaven. I want to build a Slumbercoach and really go wild. However, I have never attempted a project of this scope. Some other contributing factors to my current dilemma: I live (for now) in an apartment; I'm new to the Austin area and am just making friends, i.e., I can't borrow some expertise and a barn; also, I am like a teardrop, small, compact and vintage, so I need to test my strength (I'm not a complete wuss, I kayak two or three times a week, but I don't backpack or run 5 miles anymore). I really want to join in the teardrop experience and not wait 2 years to finish my first project. After surfing around this forum all week and seeing the intricacies of this project, I have come up with a plan and would like some input, but no laughing at my compromise test run!
I thought I would build a miniaturized teardrop galley and front storage for my gear on a harbor freight 40-1/2 x 48" with the 12" wheels. I already sleep in back of my little Nissan Frontier w/ a camper top, so I could continue to do that and store my Dragonfly, screenroom and other gear in the front compartment of the tear. This would eliminate the mess where I sleep and make setup and takedown so much faster. I also thought a mini Cab silhouette would be cute for this project,but am not sure it would work. I could do alot of this on my patio and storage room. I wouldn't need a full garage with careful planning. Has anyone tried this? Any helpful comments? Does anyone absolutely think this is a bad idea?
lanego
Teardrop Master