Hello from Middle Tennessee

This is the place where you can introduce yourself, and include a photo if so desired.

Hello from Middle Tennessee

Postby sems » Sun Jan 21, 2007 2:45 pm

Hi all:

I've enjoyed reading a bit on this forum. My husband and I have been long time campers mostly in tents and out of the back of our Toyota Tacoma. He's a nature photographer, and I'm a historian and writer who likes to work out of doors, and we have a 6-year-old boxer who loves to hike. Every summer we head out for fun places where we can all pursue our interests. But the whole tent/truck thing is getting old so I've been looking for alternatives.

I've had a long running interest in teardrops--how can a historian not love a little retro house on wheels 8) ??? but I don't have the skills to build one. So I was looking at lightweight folding campers, instead, with much resistance from DH who claimed he didn't want to pull anything behind the truck.

Then he says to me the other night, "What if I built an 8' Cubby?" :o He does have the skills, lots of 'em. So, to make this long story short, I've been scouring the internet for more info and found this discussion.

Looking forward to talking more with folks about the details. (Sorry the first post is so long.)
Susan, David, Buster Brown the hiking fiend, & his sidekick, Happy Gilmore
2007 Pleasant Valley Teardrop
sems
Teardrop Inspector

Postby Geron » Sun Jan 21, 2007 3:01 pm

Hi Susan David and Buster,

Welcome to the forum. You've found a wonderful place to find info to possibly pursue your "dream."

I build the 8' Chubby and it was really a joy. YOU DO have the skills, it can be done.

Beginning advice. I finally sold the Chubby because it was only 48" wide. Not nearly enough room for the wife and I to sleep. We both toss and turn and sleep with the knee up position. It was just impossible.

Am building one 60" wide (on the inside) now. This make one major difference. So as you plan, my advice, plan on a 5 footer.

Welcome,