Hello from Utah! Possible build idea??

This is the place where you can introduce yourself, and include a photo if so desired.

Hello from Utah! Possible build idea??

Postby SmokeyBear » Thu May 01, 2008 6:31 pm

Hey guys,

Love the site, love the posts, and the humor and banter that is seen in the posts here.

I am new here and glad to join yall. I've been surfing the site for about a month planning my attack! I work for the United States Forest Service (hence the name) and I love the outdoors. I've been a Law Enforcement officer for the Forest Service for 8 years now and I try to get out and go camping at every chance possible.

I love to travel and I love to camp. I hate to set up and take down tents, and that has me looking at TDs! I've kicked the idea around before, but now that I've got a wife to kick the idea around with it looks like upper management has given approval to atleast start looking, so here I am.

So many things to say.. I don't know where to start. I guess since I hate tents, I want something that I can camp in without poles and the wind shaking the fabric.

While I would love to go out and buy something sweet, I'd love even more to build something with my own two hands. And while that sounds like a heap of fun, I don't have a shop, tools, and barely enough time to pack my bags and hit the dirt, let alone start from the ground up. I've read here and else where about the HF trailer builds which I kind of like. One thing I haven't read much about is if anyone has converted an enclosed trailer into a TTT or a TD style camper. Does anyone do this? If so can anyone give me some pointers or point me in a good direction?

I found a 5x8 enclosed trailer for $1,400 new. I was thinking if I could add some shelving inside, maybe cut a door/windows and perhaps a vent in the roof I'd be set.. this is all in my head, and I don't know the first thing about the mechanics behind an enclosed, so here I am asking if anyone has kicked this idea around before.