Viva Las Vegas

This is the place where you can introduce yourself, and include a photo if so desired.

Viva Las Vegas

Postby djohnsonnv » Fri Oct 14, 2016 5:41 pm

Hello from Las Vegas,

i am a 31 yo geotechnical engineer living in Las Vegas. Have always loved camping and have a few spots not far from town that are backcountry and accessable only by 4WD and/or high clearance vehicles (all stock friendly). Might start spending a little more time in campgrounds since I have 2 young boys (1 and 2 y.o.). I have some woodworking experience. Mostly rough projects that I did with my brother and grandpa (work benches, farm trailer beds, etc., nothing pretty) as well as some refinishing project (those were pretty). My young brother is a professionally trained mechanic but now works as a maintenance tech for the city's sewer system. We often said that between an engineer and a mechanic there isn't much we can't figure out.

I have been thinking about a teardrop for several years and have a few ideas in mind. Looking forward to refining those ideas from what is available on that forum. Few obstacle I have to clear before I get serious.
1. Fix up the house. Just bought a house that needs some work. No way the wife will sign off on a luxury camping item before the house is up to her standards.
2. Buy a tow vehicle. Sold my Ram 1500 4x4 to buy the house. Thinking about replacing it with a Subaru Forester or a small pickup.
3. Let the boys grow a bit. They are too young to sleep in a rooftop tent and my favorite spots will prohibit using a trailer large enough for the four of us inside.
Last edited by djohnsonnv on Mon Oct 17, 2016 2:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
djohnsonnv
Teardrop Builder

Re: Viva Las Vegas

Postby bc toys » Sat Oct 15, 2016 7:55 am