Building a teardrop in Maine

This is the place where you can introduce yourself, and include a photo if so desired.

Building a teardrop in Maine

Postby wdwalker » Fri Nov 04, 2016 2:39 pm

Hello all,

I was given a utility trailer and wondering what to do with it... About the same time that we realized that sleeping on the ground sucks...

Spending the winter planning, drawing, collecting ideas, learning... By spring I hope to have the base finished and my wall template cut out and ready to go.

Right now the plan is to use a framed/insulated wall construction with plywood skins... we'll see if that's still the plan in the spring!

I'm an experienced woodworker - sheds, furniture, bookcases, old house restoration and I'm especially excited at having an excuse to purchase new and/or updated tools!

David
wdwalker
Teardrop Inspector

Re: Building a teardrop in Maine

Postby dmdc411 » Fri Nov 04, 2016 9:30 pm

Welcome! Sounds like you're on the way. All kinds of possibilities, variations, you name it. There is no real right or wrong way. Just remember, to take your time, think through each step. Because it will affect another step down the line. Build light weight. Think airplane, not tank! I used 1 x 2's and 1/2" plywood exterior, 5mm luan interior and roof. Still over built!
dmdc411
Teardrop Master

Postby Xanthoman » Wed Nov 09, 2016 12:30 am