Hello

This is the place where you can introduce yourself, and include a photo if so desired.

Hello

Postby JeepinPete » Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:18 am

Hi, my name is Pete. Like everyone that has a desire to build something out of the ordinary, I like to complicate my life :lol: I am a mechanical engineer by training and nature, so I find myself always getting into projects most "normal" people would never consider.

So how did I end up here? I have always been a tent camper. Why wife was never a camper. She tried the tent, being a good sport, but it just isn't her thing. We have two kids, and I find myself wanting to spend more and more time in the woods with them. Since my wife doesn't care for tenting, this was leaving her out of the fun, so to speak. So a middle ground had to be found.

Last spring we bought a used popup camper. Seemed like a good idea at the time. Last fall we took a two week road trip. Original plan was to hop skip and jump our way through New Hampshire and Maine. We never did make it to Maine for a number of reasons, but had a great time in NH.

The trip did teach me that a popup is not my idea of a good time. Way too much time was spent setting up and packing up. And the popup itself is too large. With a sink and stove inside, plus a shower and toilet. We never cooked inside, used a Coleman white gas stove outside on the camp table. Never spent much time inside other than sleeping either. The shower was used, but it consumed a huge amount of water, and the toilet was for emergencies only. Dealing with a tank of waste...

So I have been looking for an alternative. Something that splits the difference between a tent and a popup. And the teardrop type camper would seem to cover most of my needs. Time will tell I guess.

Pete
JeepinPete
Teardrop Inspector

Re: Hello

Postby G-Mac » Sun Feb 19, 2017 10:38 am

Hey Pete, good to meet you!