Newbie from North

This is the place where you can introduce yourself, and include a photo if so desired.

Newbie from North

Postby PJLangevin » Sat Aug 05, 2017 10:18 pm

Good Evening from Canada.

Well I am new to this whole thing, but as is me, I have jumped in with both feet and am now trying to keep my head above the water. I have started (well almost finished) the frame of my 5' 4" x 8' 4" teardrop trailer, and then today I bought a partial started teardrop.
Pictures are in my gallery for anyone to look at, please make lots of comments, I really need help :?and I've been told the first step is admitting it.
Our design calls for walls that are 1/4" ply outside 2 x dimensional lumber framing, and 1/4 or 1/8 ply inside. Going retro with canvas outer covering (poor man's fiberglass if you must). The unfinished one I bought, is going to have same finish, but has thinner walls. It is for a very close dear friend.
So there is the start of my journey, will take all the help I can get.
Oh yeah, want to build as much as can using my own tools, so I've got lots of questions on doors and windows and sunroofs and electrical (I have an idea, but not sure if it will work), and framing, and well lots.

So Hi! :D :wine:
An it harm none, do what ye will
PJLangevin
Teardrop Builder

Re: Newbie from North

Postby dmdc411 » Sun Aug 06, 2017 5:14 pm

My opinion, 1x lumber is perfect for framing. Then fill cavities with 3/4" high density foam board. Using wood glue on wood and liquid nails on the foam board. Makes an amazingly strong structure. The floor maybe 3/8 " ply minimum, 1/2" max, but fill with foam board again. Light weight, and strong is end result! Think it through, read the forums, ask questions if your stuck. But enjoy the project.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
dmdc411
Teardrop Master

Postby PJLangevin » Sun Aug 06, 2017 6:02 pm