Taking the plunge in Northern Idaho

This is the place where you can introduce yourself, and include a photo if so desired.

Taking the plunge in Northern Idaho

Postby Photophobic » Tue Oct 03, 2017 2:09 am

After my last road trip I've decided now is the time to dive in on building my teardrop. I get migraines from florescent lights staying at most hotels these days has become a painful experience so taking my own refuge with me will help me still visit family and friends, the fact I drive in between will just give me an extra excuse to explore. I've been looking at travel trailers for a couple years as my condition has gotten worse and never found a simple enough design for me. A friend turned me on to teardrops to save on gas compared to the huge sail that even an r-pod presents. I'm a first time builder and tons to learn but it looks like i found a pretty good resource here. I think the biggest trick right now is to get it done before I run out of money :D

I plan on fully documenting my build and will start a thread for it but for right now I need to go pay for my custom trailer so they start building. It's basicly the same trailer as the Big-Tex 5x10 utility trailer, but without a top rail, rear ramp-gate or wood decking. Not saving much but I don't have to deal with tearing it apart before I can start my build. maybe overkill by many peoples standards but it's going to get a lot of highway and fire/logging road miles behind my Tacoma.
Paul

Photophobic photographer looking for adventure.
Build thread: Here
Photophobic
Teardrop Advisor

Re: Taking the plunge in Northern Idaho

Postby pchast » Tue Oct 03, 2017 8:32 pm

Welcome.... :D

I found money less of a problem by buying needed items
in stages when I had another bit of income.
pchast
Platinum Donating Member

Re: Taking the plunge in Northern Idaho

Postby Vedette » Wed Oct 04, 2017 9:21 am

Welcome to the Forum. :thumbsup: