Raw Recruit (Newbie) Will Need Lots of Help

This is the place where you can introduce yourself, and include a photo if so desired.

Raw Recruit (Newbie) Will Need Lots of Help

Postby CaleyAnn » Wed Jan 17, 2018 8:31 am

Hello, I'm a newbie. I live in the high desert of southern California. I got introduced to Placer (gold) mining about 10 years ago, and did that for a few years until the local area got torn up by the off roaders. So, my little CRV could not handle the loose sand and kept getting stuck. I quit mining until a year or so ago, when I joined another gold mining club who had claims that are accessible by my car.

I did a couple of trips out to the claims. I stayed in a motel, which basically ate up whatever gold I found, plus more cash. Gold mining is fun, but you have to come out ahead somehow. So I quit again. I am not a person who like to camp outside or in a soft walled tent. There are scorpions, rattlesnakes, coyotes, mountain lions, an various other not so nice denizens of the desert that I don't want living with me at night in my sleeping bag. I knew I needed some kind of camper to be able to pursue the gold mining pastime. I'd thought of a used RV, but was told that you would be purchasing other peoples problems. I thought about building a teardrop camper, but right now my carpentry skills are atrocious. So I finally figured out that if I purchased a cargo trailer, I probably had the skills to do a little work inside to make it functional as a camper

And yesterday I purchased a very small cargo trailer. It is only 4x6 in size, and the reason for that is that my little car, a 2001 Honda CRV is just not up to hauling big trailers. And my carpentry skills are not good enough to attempt to build a teardrop camper at this time.