Hi From Wisconsin

This is the place where you can introduce yourself, and include a photo if so desired.

Hi From Wisconsin

Postby imlucky42 » Thu Jan 25, 2018 12:41 pm

Hi all,

I've been an admirer of Teardrops for a few years and now that I have a third stall I can finally I am able to start my own build! being from Wisconsin I'm already realizing my timeline of 6 months is going to be tight as working in 20 degree weather (even in the garage) isn't fun but I've got a little heater to help with that. my build is going to be as basic as it gets, no electric, just a place to sleep. my biggest concern is making sure the cabin is leak proof as I have no experience with any of the options I have seen used to finish the exterior (aluminum sheeting, epoxy, etc.). currently I have an Ironton 5x8 trailer finished last night and am moving onto the flooring next.

I'm decently handy and have done quite a few wood working projects but they've all been pretty standard (tables, cabinets, boxes, etc.). the size of this project is really daunting at this point because there is so much yet to do but I'm excited to get going and am trying to break it down into a bunch of small projects. any advice, parts websites, hints, etc. are much appreciated!

thanks,
imlucky42
Teardrop Inspector

Re: Hi From Wisconsin

Postby Pmullen503 » Thu Jan 25, 2018 1:32 pm

Welcome, I'm in Fond du Lac. I built a simple foamy. You really should decide as much as possible what you want your final project will be before you start building. Every decision early on has implications in later steps.
Pmullen503
1000 Club
1000 Club

Postby breb » Thu Jan 25, 2018 8:23 pm

Greetings I am also in Wisconsin . Waukesha to be precise. I am on my 3rd year of construction. The length of time for me