Noob checking in

This is the place where you can introduce yourself, and include a photo if so desired.

Noob checking in

Postby GuySmiley » Mon Oct 12, 2020 10:51 am

Greetings!

After choking or spraying multiple cups of coffee upon seeing the MSRP of off road trailers and campers, I've decided to try my hand at designing and (hopefully) building a teardrop for family camping, overlanding... and maybe even serve as an off grid office?

I'm a licensed Architect, well versed in CAD and 3d Modeling, and a fair hand at carpentry. I found tnttt through a link @tony.latham posted on Expedition Portal -and subsequently purchased his book- which I've been working through alongside sketching initial design concepts. I've been sponging up the collective knowledge posted here (and elsewhere) about home built trailers, construction methods and design features.

I'll be towing whatever I eventually (hopefully!) build with a 5th gen 4Runner, so I want to keep it light, high clearance to match or exceed the 4Runner, with matching wheel and tire sizes for worst case scenarios. Initially it will need to sleep my wife and myself, along with our 5 year old son. I intend to design it in such a way as to have the ability to add a roof top tent later for when mini-me is no longer mini.

I'll post up some of my sketches, CAD drawings and 3d models once I reach a point I feel is good to take a breath and critique.

Cheers!
GuySmiley
Teardrop Inspector

Re: Noob checking in

Postby RJ Howell » Mon Oct 12, 2020 2:46 pm

Welcome and please do bring on your ideas. We've all gone through the stage and hopefully can assist you along the journey.

You'll find me to be a huge fan of standees, which typically means a lifting roof. Several here have done it and in different ways. Great source here to see what and why someone did something, learn from it and hear excitement from those that assisted/encouraged as you proceed.