Greetings from NW Missouri

This is the place where you can introduce yourself, and include a photo if so desired.

Greetings from NW Missouri

Postby MonteQuest » Sat Jul 29, 2023 8:23 pm

Monte here. I have decided that my days of tent camping are over. A teardrop is calling me. I am a retired general contractor with all the skills and tools required. A few years ago, I converted a 35' 1966 Bluebird bus into a motorhome. It got 5 miles to a gallon but was useful for me during my NPS ranger days. I'm going to make my frame from scratch and even the door. I'm working on getting an idea of the weight for the plans I have in mind. I will be towing it behind a 2006 Toyota Solara, so it must be light. I know everyone says go 5' wide, but I only need it for me, so it will be 4' wide and 8' long. I'll spend some time perusing the posts before posting.
Monte
MonteQuest
Teardrop Builder

Re: Greetings from NW Missouri

Postby pchast » Sat Jul 29, 2023 9:32 pm

Welcome! :D
pchast
Platinum Donating Member

Postby TimC » Sat Jul 29, 2023 10:05 pm

MonteQuest wrote:... so it must be light. I know everyone says go 5' wide, but I only need it for me, so it will be 4' wide and 8' long. I'll spend some time perusing the posts before posting.

Welcome Monte. I'm looking forward to following your build progress. I hope someday there are enough 4x8 teardrops with build journals for us lone campers to have a tnttt category dedicated to those designs. They serve a purpose and as vehicles get smaller and solo campers get more minimalistic they'll become more popular.